Snapchat Poem

I wrote a thing, and I read it to some friends, and they told me it was a poem. It’s not like my other poems though this one is meant to be read aloud. I thought about recording it and sharing it with you here, but I’m not ready to release it into the world as a static object yet. I want you to hear it though, so I’m going to try something new. At 8:00 pm CST Friday March 18th I will be performing this poem live via snapchat @bethijay91 one stanza at a time. It will be live on my story for 24 hrs after that for your viewing pleasure, and I hope you will snap me back your responses. This will be an intentionally impermanent record of what it is right now, but I have plans to incorporate it into a one person play I am working on right now for next year so it won’t be the last you hear of it. This is an experiment in form too. If there is good response perhaps I will write more poetry for snapchat we’ll see. I look forward to sharing.

 

Update 8:00 am : I mispublished my snapchat name last night because it was late and I was excited, it has been corrected now my apologies. 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Snapchat Poem

  1. Now I find myself longing to sign up for snapchat 🙂
    But I can’t come to the event tonight so… maybe next time.
    It’s a great idea.
    I entirely want to play if you do something like this again.

Leave a comment