Unknown friend

Hi, I don’t know you, and I don’t even remember your name, but you changed me and my life for the better.

I want to give props where props are due and let you know that without meeting you I would not be able to trust again like I want to do. Your love poured through me and opened all my pores to intuite the divine in your rueful smile. I don’t know why I walked into your bar or why you hung around through my defensive disinterest but I’m glad you did.

The things you said to me about love and loss, art and life, and getting on. They were exactly the words my heart was hoping to hear but I didn’t know it yet. Phrased in a way that was just new and fresh enough they melted the whore frost clinging to my bones and rattled my heart beat into a new spring tune.

I hope you read Edna St. Vincent Millay and think of me.

I hope you find the falling star you are looking for.

I hope you become the supercharged black hole this humdrum universe has been crying out for.

I hope you know how much those couple of hours of conversation meant to me.

I will remember the gentle creases around your warm eyes, and the way you knew how to spin strangers into your card tricks, the way your heart stood open to the world full of mysteries. 

Only your name seems to escape me.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Unknown friend

Leave a Reply

